Things happening in London: March

You know what it’s like in winter –  you leave work, it’s dark, it’s cold, it’s probably raining and you go home. But as the days are getting longer, and the sun occasionally decides to show its face around town, I find myself wanting to do more stuff.

I’ve been browsing trying to plan my spring/summer adventures way in advance (over-organised much Mil?) But as I’ve discovered some pretty cool, and affordable things going on in the next half of March I thought I’d share them with you.


Free and Fun

Camberwell Free Film Festival: Running from 19th-29th March in various venue’s, big and small, around Camberwell. Check out the listings here. I’m looking forward to Pride at The Flying Dutchman on 28th, as I missed the film the first time round!

Bloomsbury People:  Wednesday 25th 1pm (Free) If, like me, you have to read every blue plaque you see around London, or often find yourself fawning over big beautiful houses you will never own, – you won’t want to miss this guided walk around Bloomsbury. It will take you to the houses of Bloomsbury’s most famous former residents. More info here. 

Talking Points

Alexander Mcqueen: Savage Beauty: (until August 2nd) I mean, wildly excited doesn’t do it justice. If you are organised enough to have booked tickets, congratulations! If not – don’t fret – they are releasing 200 on the door each morning, and it’s here till August 2nd. More info on tickets here.  Watch this space for my review.

Clarence Darrow at The Old Vic : Until April 11th (Price Varies) If you have been a fan of Kevin Spacey’s work at the Old Vic, you won’t want to miss his big finale. You may have already seen it as it was on last year, but a one-man show Spacey is often worth a peek. Tickets are sold out, but day tickets are available if you can bare the queuing. Info here. 

The Unconventional Choice

Margaret Thatcher Queen of Soho:At the Leicester Square Theatre 17th-21st March.  having this show recommended to me highly at last years Edfringe – I was rather pleased to see it coming to London – and in its rightful place – Soho – no less. If a disco-dancing drag-act version of Maggie Thatcher sounds like your thing – this is probably perfect for you. Tickets here. 

Please note, I as I have not yet been to many of these events myself – I am not vouching for their quality – just providing inspiration and information.

Leave a Reply

