April Beauty Favourites

It’s that time again – a beauty summary for April. I’ve been a little adventurous this month, and I’m feeling rather proud of myself for getting some whole new types of products in my routine!

April beauty favourites

Vintage Cosmetics Brushes:  

Now I’m not a brushes kind of girl, I like a minimal look when it comes to my make-up, and I find it quicker to use a finger to blend my concealer than go to any effort washing brushes. I’ve had the same blusher brush for about 10 years, pretty much unwashed for its entire lifetime (Ahem). I’m just not good at brushes.

But then I saw these lovely, pretty things on Georgina’s blog Fox on the Hunt, and I just really wanted them in my life.

I’m so glad I got them because, not only is the pale pink/silver combo making my dressing table look all kinds of great; they are also pretty much the softest things I’ve ever had touch my face in all my life. I will have to update you on whether or not I clean them – or they just get relegated to the bottom of my make-up bag in exchange for my much easier to wash hands, but I really hope it is the former!

Red dress April Favourites

Bobbi Brown Blush: 

Now, this one technically may be cheating, as this blusher is not mine, but my mum’s. But let me tell you it is great (evidenced by the fact that I steal it every morning). It is Bobbi Brown’s in ‘Nude Peach’ and it is a great natural shade for anyone pale like me, who also likes a natural look and is a bit afraid of contouring for fear of looking like a Picasso! It’s not too shimmery, and it would be hard to put too much on. Basically it just helps make me look a little bit more alive, and a little less ‘are you feeling ok? You look very pale’.

April faves collage

Lush Eau Roma Water Toner:

Now on top of never really owning brushes – I’ve also never really owned a toner before. I don’t believe in buying things if you aren’t sure of their use, and to be honest I’ve never really understood what the point of a toner was. But, when I was perusing the new, incredible Lush Flagship store on Oxford Street, (go, go, go!) I came across this bad-boy!

I read – ‘calms sensitive skin’ and ‘aromatherapy’ and then the very short ingredient list and decided it was for me. Anything that can calm my skin and my nerves is going to have to make it into my all time favourite things on this planet. Not only that, but it actually works as well. My redness and rosacea are almost gone, and I have never used a product that worked this well so quickly, and without causing some kind of pimple break-out or strange rash!

The lavender scent and I think also the action of spritzing water onto my face is actually quite relaxing, and awakening (obviously if you spritz any kind of water in someone’s face it will awaken them so that’s probably nothing to do with the formula).Now to be honest, I still don’t really know what a toner is meant to do – but I like this product, and as it’s under a fiver, I think I can forgive that!

So there we have it, my April favourites are in my opinion some real hum-dinger’s! Have you tried any of them?

Shout out to May’s Vogue as well for all the pretty pictures!

9 thoughts on “April Beauty Favourites

  1. We girls are so horrible. I don’t think any of us washes our brushes as often as we should. Thank you for the blush recommendation, I’m always struggling to find a good one for my pale skin. They always seem like too much or too dark or too shimmery.

    xx Izzy | http://qthee.com/

    Like

    1. Oh I’m glad I’m not the only one who is a bit gross! And I know the pale skin blush pain! They always seem to glow on my face, but this one is so subtle! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

