Summer activities in London!

London

May is my favourite month in the city, for the following reasons:

  1. The temperature is just about right so the tubes aren’t too sweaty, but you aren’t too cold waiting at the bus stop.
  2. The evenings are lighter so you don’t feel the need to go to bed straight after dinner, and can actually GO OUT after work.
  3. We get not one, but TWO bank holiday weekends, and best of all,
  4. ALL THE FUN THINGS START HAPPENING!  I did a little round-up for you.

Open air Cinema’s. 

There is something pretty exciting about watching a film outside. It’s something that you can’t do at home unless you have a very impressive set-up so it always feels a little bit special.

There are so many great open-air cinemas in London – and around the country – in the summer months. Even free one’s. Last year, I saw the Truman Show at More London for free, sat outside with a view of Tower Bridge, and The Thames behind me and it was bloody well lovely.

There is a great selection now of companies running these kind of events, and venues all over the city, so see if anything takes your fancy.

Check out some of these options: Rooftop film club, The Luna Cinema, Film 4 Summer Screen, Pop-up Screens.

Outdoor Eating/Food Events

Everyone loves a bit of Borough Market all year round, but there is no doubt that Al Fresco dining/(eating on the street) becomes a lot easier when the sun warms up.

Lewisham Model Market has opened in the last few weeks, and I am excited. A disused, and pretty derelict 1950’s indoor/outdoor market gets transformed every weekend evening until September for a street-food market like none South East London has ever seen. I went last year, and whilst the food was good, it was a little over priced, and it was reallllyyy busy so hard to find a seat etc. but if you are in the area or don’t want to stray far from home it’s definitely worth checking out.

Midnight margaritas! (Yes that is a practical magic reference - and no I know it's not midnight!) #margaritas #wahaca #cocktails #guacamole #fdblogger #foodpic #instafood

Udderbelly and Wonderground

I have a great love for the Udderbelly team at Southbank. They bring a little bit of the Edinburgh Fest down with them every year (well technical it’s before that but you catch my drift.) They have some brilliant stuff going on here. Cabaret’s, circus acts, comedy, and theatre. All stuff that’s a little bit different, and fresh. Don’t miss Sh*t-faced Shakespeare (they perform shakespeare whilst one cast member gets progressively drunk throughout the show) or Showstoppers: The Improvised Musical for a fun and unforgettable night.

Outdoor Theatre

The Globe season starts in April but you have a better chance of avoiding those pesky April showers, if you go slightly later in the season. As a semi-regular Globe visitor I would recommend visiting in the slightly cooler spring months than the heat of Summer. I will never forget standing through Henry VIII for over three hours in 25C and not for good reasons. The shows are almost always excellent.

Similarly, the Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre kicks off it’s season with Peter Pan from the 14th May. Now I’ve never seen this version, but if there is flying (it’s Peter Pan so I hope there would be) then I imagine it will be pretty magical to see Pan and Wendy flying through real-life tree’s.

Well, that should be enough to get you started. Let me know if you check any of my suggestions out! I’m also currently working on a  detailed guide to South East London. So if you have anything you’d like to see go in that please let me know.

2 thoughts on “Summer activities in London!

  1. I love shows at the Globe, they never fail to inspire me, and so cheap! Although I stood through Macbeth in the winter and I was frozen – but definite must do again. I’ve never actually visited Udderbelly, but I’ll try to visit this summer as it is something I’d like to do 🙂

    Like

    1. I know it’s such a great venue, and very affordable! I always find that shorter comedies are the best way forward for an enjoyable experience! Some of the longer more tragic shows are a bit much to stand through in the rain! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

