Travelling – Fantasy’s and Fears

Travel

Travel

‘I haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on my list’ 

So if you’ve ever entered the world of pinterest, you may have seen a inspirational travel quote or two floating around, and these are often followed by pictures of lots of incredible places all over the world, that no I have never been to, and in reality probably will never go to. It’s not that I don’t want to. Believe me, I can think of nothing I would rather do than spend the rest of my life seeing those places – that is – as long as I could snap my fingers and be there.

People often talk to me about travelling, and all the marvellous places they’ve been, and want to go to. I always feel a little like I can’t join in when the conversation turns global. I have travelled to a few places, and only ever really on holiday’s. I’ve never been backpacking, I’ve only once been to a different continent and that was to the USA – again on a very comfortable family holiday.

People often tell me I’m just the sort of person who like’s being near home. Although that is I guess in some way the case – I do feel more comfortable at home, of course I do, who doesn’t? But there are several reason’s I’ve not yet made the time to travel.

‘And then I realised. Adventures are the best way to learn’ 

I’ve been busy. Terrible excuse I know but I have been. When everyone else was on a Gap Year – I was doing a foundation course, then already a year behind I couldn’t start uni any later. Every summer I needed to work, or had week’s of work experience and internship’s lined up, and I never made the time to go anywhere. I also thought it was more important, and that I could travel any time, and everywhere would still be there when the time was right.

‘If you think adventure is dangerous, try routine – it’s lethal’ 

Well guess what destinations have always been top of my list?  Venice is sinking, and Cuba’s on the path to Starbucks and Mcdonalds. Suddenly I’ve found myself in a full time job, with quite little holiday time, and restrictions on when I can take it, and I don’t know when I’ll ever be able to go.

But then, I brought this on myself a little. This is surely what I wanted when I put in all those hours over summer volunteering and interning – surely this is what it was for?

But in reality, I didn’t make that choice because I would have rather one than the other. Really I was scared. I was scared of the flights, the trains, the hostel rooms. I was scared of getting mugged (when I live in one of the areas of the country with the highest crime rates…make’s no sense) scared of eating something that has a secret nut in it that might kill me. I’ve made excuses and found reasons not to go, and now my anxiety has come to fill me with fear of what I’ve missed out on.

‘Your heart is free. Have the courage to follow it’ 

Well if you are still reading, I hope you’ll be pleased to know that I’m taking steps to overcome this. I’ve booked a week in Paris in August- it’s not far, and it’s not new – but I am going completely solo! I am terrified, but also excited. Hopefully it will help me get over some of my fears, and I’ll be travelling a little further away from home in no time!

Here are my 5 most longed for trips. I may put them on my before 40 bucket list (I think before 30 is probably a bit ambitious, as some will probably be quite expensive, and time consuming!) If you’ve been to any I would love to know your recommendations.

My dream trips 

Thanks for listening to my ramblings!

11 thoughts on “Travelling – Fantasy’s and Fears

  1. I’m petrified of flying, so I can understand how you might not want to just jump on a plane. Travel can be scary, but you can master that fear, you can become brave and do it, and you are, by starting small and Paris is beautiful and fabulous.
    At the age of 26 I wish I had travelled more, but like you I ended up working so much through university that it wasn’t really feasible; although I managed a ten day holiday in Prague. Since then I have struggled to travel as finances haven’t been ace.
    Beautiful post 🙂

    Like

    1. Yep, I think personally I didn’t realise how difficult it would be to travel after uni. Suddenly no student loan, and little free time is gets so much harder! I hope you get to see all the corners of the world you want to one day! We can both conquer our fears – I’m sure it will be worth it when we get there! 🙂

      Like

  2. I have recently done about 3 weeks of travelling around the US and Canada but I was staying in 3* hotels and motels the entire time. I’d love to do a backpacking trip around the states but it does take time and money. At least you spent your summers productively. I have no luck with internships and work experience (although Chemistry must be an insurance issue!)

    I bet you’re excited for Paris. I’m so desperate to visit Alaska. It’s top of my list right now.

    Rachael at broomfie.blogspot.com

    Like

  3. Cuba is lovely, I would definitely recommend going there! Only not in hurricane season, I got stranded out there for an extra week because of a hurricane :’)

    Kimberley xx

    thecolourchronicles.wordpress.com

    Like

  4. I’m a complete home bird too! I spend hours dreaming of places I could travel too but there’s nothing like coming home! I don’t think the travel lifestyle is for me I think a yearly holiday somewhere new is how I’ll see the world

    Like

Leave a Reply

